10 Stages of Grief

Thursday, February 12, 2009

So I figured I'd see just what stage we Habs fans are at right now. For the heck of it.

Info taken from <here>

Stage 1: SHOCK AND DENIAL. The pain is too great to be handled. Temporarily the system “overheats” and reality is blocked out. “This can’t be happening.” Done. That loss against Florida was brutal but it was easy to deny it happened.

Stage 2: EMOTIONS ERUPT. The shock passes and emotions overflow their usual boundaries. They are expressed in ways ranging from wrenching sobs to gentle tears. Logic and rationality give way to an overwhelming realization of the loss. "Off with Carbo's head!" "Trade the whole team for Vinny!" "Let's kidnap Vinny!" I think we did this stage.

Stage 3: ANGER. After being hurt, most people feel angry. They want to retaliate, to inflict pain on others, to strike out at the person or thing causing the pain. I'm sure I wasn't the only one who wanted to hit Price and Co upside the head.....

Stage 4: SICKNESS. Often the body acts out the pain being felt through actual physical symptoms. Nausea, headaches, diarrhea, extreme fatigue are common. Yup! Or maybe I'm just reacting to a stupid cold bug that's going around.........*kicks weather and stupid bugs*

Stage 5: PANIC. After a time of sickness and emotional upset, people begin to realize that they aren’t acting like themselves anymore. They begin to worry, wondering if they have become mentally ill. They frequently ask themselves “What is happening to me?” I think no matter what the Habs do, fans often ask themselves if they're mentally ill anyway.... But yes, we did the panic stage.

Stage 6: GUILT. Personal guilt feelings build up as people wonder whether they are somehow to blame for the loss. They ask themselves if they could have done something to make it different if only . . .Yup. Getting over hyped is always a bad thing and I feel bad about it.

Stage 7: DEPRESSION AND LONELINESS. The pain of their loss often causes people to withdraw into themselves. They begin to realize that the change is permanent. As the depression deepens, friends and family find it harder to draw the person out, to talk them into participating in regular activities again. Well.... not me.... but that's 'cause I'd look like an idiot after going on a whole spiel that I won't get depressed about this. I don't like looking like an idiot. But there's definitely some people out there at this stage.

Stage 8: RE-ENTRY TROUBLES. Once the effort is made to get back into the normal routine, the pain of loss makes it difficult to be as trusting and open as before the loss. Suspicion must be battled constantly. Friends and families are tested again and again.

Stage 9: HOPE EMERGES. Gradually, the pain subsides and the world becomes bearable again. Hope sneaks through the cracks in the walls built up as protection against hurt. Energy is regained. The process of rebuilding seems possible.

Stage 10: ACCEPTING AND AFFIRMING REALITY. The loss is accepted without bitterness. Death gives way to new life. Purpose is regained. A new, different reality is where life is to be lived.

So that's stage seven.....Okay......Three more to go! Whooo! Oh wait.... Pleky just got suspended. Guess we're stalled at stage seven for a while.


Grrrreg said...

Ahahah! nice one! And pretty accurate, too. I can already see the stage 8 approaching, once they win one or two games, but nobody wants to believe yet, because Price let in another softie, or Kovalev took a stupid penalty.

Post a Comment